With Yarns, I Play

My current project: a “fuzz critter.”  Obviously, it isn’t finished.  The ball’s end isn’t sewn up, the feet haven’t been attached, the eyes (which I painted black with a felt-tip pen – they were that pearly white kind of buttons with the loop on the back) haven’t been attached, and it’s not fuzzy.  Mom has a strange little device like a miniature slicker brush (the kind for cats/dogs) without the handle, and in a loop so you can wear it over two fingers or something.  The label isn’t in English, so I don’t know what they call it, but it reminds me (as I already said) of a wire slicker brush.

Anyway, I’d like to use that thing, whatever it is, to fluff up the Fuzz Critter’s body.  The drawing is what I want it to look like when I’m done.

Besides that project, I made an adorable little witch’s hat using a wonderful yarn.  I don’t know what the yarn is called, but it’s an extremely soft and silky fabric ribbon kind of yarn.  Here’s a picture of it, with the hat when I wasn’t done making it…

My camera is damaged, which is why there are those weird horizontal lines through the photo.  And that photo also makes the yarn look rough, but it’s not.  As I said, it’s really soft and silky.  Do you have any idea what it’s called?  I’d like to get more of it sometime, somewhere.

Since my camera is damaged, it (besides the lines in the photos) sometimes takes photos like this, usually when there’s no flash:

That’s the rainbow-coloured Ostara (which is called Easter by Christians) egg that I blogged about a while ago.  Did I share that photo?  Maybe.  But I’m using it as an example now.

And besides that problem with my camera, it also drains brand-new alkaline batteries in, say, an hour.  Brand-new batteries!  *Sigh*  I need a new camera.

The top photo wasn’t taken with my Canon Powershot A430, it was taken with Mom’s Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H2.  That’s a nice camera.  It’ll even take about thirty photos without a memory card!  Incredible, eh?  The kind of memory card it takes is called “Memory Stick Duo”, the same thing a PSP takes.

My sister got a PSP game recently.  Some horse game.  I haven’t played it.  She also got a DS game, Harvest Moon: Sunshine Islands.  That game I do care about, since I want it.  Well, I did want it.  I don’t play my DS as much now as I used to.  I want a laptop more.

This is unrelated, but I thought I aught to mention it.  I’m reading a book called Incarceron right now.  I’m halfway through chapter two, and I’m thoroughly confused.  Loads of things have happened already, but I don’t understand any of it.  This Finn person was chained in front of a train, or something, and he yelled at the people to stop the train, and they came out and unchained him, and then a bunch of people came out of nowhere and attacked the people who came out of the train?  And Finn was on the side of the attackers?  And then chapter two has nothing to do with chapter one!  It could be from a different book, it’s so unrelated.  I just don’t understand.  And anyway, the mood of the book doesn’t fit with the moods I’ve been in since I started the book (three or so days ago) so I’m not reading it very often (hence my being only in chapter two).  My sister (who borrowed the book from the library in the first place) keeps telling me to hurry up and read it, or she’ll take it back and return it.  I’m starting to think that I should just take my bookmark out and give it back without finishing it, but I don’t know yet.

Have I ever mentioned Mom’s lavender plant?  Well, despite it’s straggly stems, it’s blossoming.  Here’s the most…blossomy…blossom on it.

And that concludes this entry.

Cheers!

Katy

One thought on “With Yarns, I Play

  1. mom says:

    I really like your postings.
    I wouldn’t read the book at this time as it is not making sense for you right now and doesn’t stir your imagination… so drop it!

Leave a Reply

