Knitting and Reading

I’ve done a foolish thing.  Do you want to know what it is?  Well, I’ve gone and borrowed four books from the library all at once to read.  And at least one of them is almost–if not more than–four centimetres thick.  Their titles are: The Wide-Awake Princess by E. D. Baker, which I’m reading right now; Companions Quartet, book 3: Mines of the Minotaur by Julia Golding, which I’m also reading right now, if inactively; The Fairy’s Return and other Princess Tales by Gail Carson Levine; and Dark Fire by Chris d’Lacey, which is the thick one.  I’ve already read the Mines of the Minotaur one, along with the fourth book (The Chimera’s Curse), but I was rereading it when I got the other three books.  Though, I suppose The Fairy’s Return and other Princess Tales should be called a volume, eh?  It has five little books in it.  I don’t remember what dad called them now…shorter than a novel, and longer than a short story.  There was some name he gave it…  *Lost in thought, trying to remember unsuccessfully*

I (obviously) finished Savvy.  I’m kind of confused about that book.  I don’t think I liked it.  The author writes first-person, and with a strong American accent.  The kind where they use fictional words.  Such as, instead of writing “bumblebee” she wrote “bumbler”.  And she made up lots of words for “chaos” and “confused”.  Anyway, I thought the storyline was silly.  I didn’t like the way the author writes, as stated above.  And yet…I want to read Scumble, which is book two.  Strange, eh?

So, about the “knitting” part of this post’s title…

My mom gave me a book of knitting stitch patterns, and therefore I’ve been making test swatches of some of them.  Mini Bobble Stitch I, Woven Stitch, Linen Stitch, Faggoted Lace Panel, Feather Lace, and Diamond Brocade.  Those are the samples I’ve made.  Unfortunately, I haven’t any photographs of them.  I’ve been reading while I knit the easier ones (not the lace ones), using a stand to hold my book up.  The book would fall through the stand, so I put my knitting stitch pattern book behind it.  Rather like this:

The book on the stand is supposed to be the Wide-Awake Princess.  I’m not sure if I portrayed it correctly, but then, it’s only a Paint image.  You can’t expect it to be too detailed.

I should really take a photo of this.  I made tiny little crocheted pieces and sewed them onto my earbuds.  A little sky-blue piece near the ear ends, and one near the plug end.  Oh, it’s so neat I have to take a photo!  Right NOW!

Leave a Reply

