Valentines Day Crochet

For this Valentines Day I have crocheted two little bunnies, designed after the Roly Poly Bunny pattern from Suncatcher Eyes, using pink and red 15 crochet thread.  If you are wondering, the brand for the crochet thread is Clea.  I didn’t embroider the faces very well, but I am sure mom’s customers will find them cute.  Eh, their loss.  Well, anyway, now I am crocheting a heart pincushion, but I don’t like how it is turning out.  I started by crocheting a spiral, then I formed a small, rounded point, and now I am crocheting a curve thing for one of the bumps.  I think I have made it wrong, because it doesn’t look right.  I would give you the photos of both projects, but both my camera’s batteries are dead and the connector cable thing isn’t here!  *Sigh*  I have a lot of contracts, too.  I have to make two Yoshi’s and a Mario and Luigi set.  I’ve run out of yarn for the Yoshi’s, so I have to come up with a new pattern!  And Mario and Luigi will be big, if I follow that pattern–the one I used before, that is.

Yesterday I borrowed a book called Amigurumi!: Super Happy Crochet Cute from my library, and it has some cute patterns, minus the fact that they placed the eyes to low.  I am actually considering making a monkey from it–and I don’t like monkeys!  But their monkey is just really cute.  They made it using berry blue and lime green yarn, which are my favourite colours, which just adds to the appeal.  The monkey is in fact humanoid, and it is wearing shorts and a short-sleeved teeshirt.  I considered mixing a few of the patterns to come up with a doll with removable clothes, because they were designed having the clothes part of them–which means that there is no body in the clothes, just stuffing.  But I could use the body colour for the clothing parts and just skip doing the slip-stitch rounds.  Yes, that would work, but do I really want to make one?  They are rather big, like the Mario Bros. I have to make, but that could be manageable.

Time flies and I do not, so I must stop writing this so that I have more time to write my book.  See you–I mean Write to you–tomorrow!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Valentines Day Crochet

  1. Fai says:

    hey Katy,
    im new to amigurumi and eng isnt my 1st lang
    i’ve been doin the roly poly bunny and i dont understand the pattern of the ears. i made the body and it looks awful without ears. can u please explain how to do the ears. i just dont get the ” ch 15 part( does it mean makin 15 chains or ??? )” and this ” across ” part
    please i reli need ur help !!!
    thx

    • Katy says:

      When it says “ch 15”, you chain 15. And when it says “work 1 sc in 2nd ch from hook and across”, you single-crochet one stitch into the second chain from the hook and every chain following your first single-crochet stitch. Does that help?

Leave a Reply

